Baltic travel bubble



• The Baltic countries of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have opened their borders to one another, creating a coronavirus “travel bubble”.

Key highlights:

• Now, citizens and residents can move freely between the three EU nations. Anybody arriving from outside the zone however must self-isolate for 14 days.

• This is the first “travel bubble” in Europe since nations began shutting their borders earlier this year in response to the coronavirus outbreak.

• The sparsely populated Baltic states have not been as badly affected by the pandemic as some of their European neighbours. There are fewer than 150 recorded deaths between the three nations.

• Both Finland and Poland have also been approached to join the Baltic travel bubble.

About Baltic Countries:

• The Baltic countries, or simply the Baltics, is a geopolitical term, used to group the three sovereign states in Northern Europe on the eastern coast of the Baltic Sea: Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.

• The region has been part of the European Union since 2004 and since 2007 has been a member of the European Schengen Free Travel Area.


Mains Paper 2: International

Prelims level: Baltic travel bubble

The post Baltic travel bubble appeared first on Aspirant World.


Source link


Subscribe to Government Job Alert

Enter your email address to subscribe to site and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Get Free Job Updates

Enter your Email to get daily free job updates